PDA

View Full Version : Want to section hike NH... nervous about going alone

lorichka6
05-01-2009, 11:51
Hi everyone. First post on here :) My husband and I live in Albany, NY and have day hiked (and a few overnights) all of NY, CT and MA on the AT. I'm a teacher and would like to do NH this summer. Unfortunately, my husband has a "real" job and can't take the time to come with me. I'm not nervous about *hiking* alone, I'm most nervous about being alone, at night, in camping area near roads and populated areas. I'm wondering a few things:
a) women - have you gotten over these jitters enough to enjoy yourself?
b) all - how would I go about finding people to hook up with coming out of ME or VT?
c) all - any other advice...?

Thanks!

Laura

modiyooch
05-01-2009, 12:11
I am female and have been hiking alone for most of my 30 years of at experiences. Although, most people will tell you no worries, I do take those concerns of yours into consideration. Personally, I try to be "street smart" on the trail; therefore, I camp alone, not at the shelters, and very careful at road crossings. I try not to make it known that I am travelling alone. I do meet the best people on the trail, and I do know that I am more at danger leaving my work place at night; but I still exercise caution in both environments. I also know that it's not advisable to hike alone, but I'm not going to sit home just because I cannot get anyone to participate.

b. I need to hike most of nh. maybe we can park cars at each end of some hikes and hike opposite directions.

When I first started backpacking at the age of 20; I was afraid of EVERYTHING. I soon learned that I was tired of being afraid.

rubyvermonter
05-01-2009, 12:26