PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping bag or Blanket and sheet

Tharg07
05-01-2009, 22:14
So I'm heading out next friday to do about 230 miles starting at springer mtn. I'm a novice and was wondering if I could save weight by skipping my sleeping bag and bringing a sheet and blanket instead. I checked weather and it looked to be around the 50's at night. just looking for some guidance on whether i would be cold or not.

Thanks

HT

Lyle
05-01-2009, 22:26
You will probably be very cold. 230 miles will put you through the Smokies and they are pretty high. You WILL be hit with some bad weather in the time it takes you to hike 230 miles. What kind of sleeping bag do you have? If it's a HEAVY cotton bag, check out the Campmore 20* down bag. $119, just over 2#, and a heck of a deal according to all reviews. Also, don't forget some kind of insulation for under you. Cheap blue closed cell foam pad from WallyWorld will work great.

snowhoe
05-01-2009, 22:36
Better yet lyle has a sub kilo bag for sale and that is what I use and its great. Check it out.

take-a-knee
05-01-2009, 22:51
So I'm heading out next friday to do about 230 miles starting at springer mtn. I'm a novice and was wondering if I could save weight by skipping my sleeping bag and bringing a sheet and blanket instead. I checked weather and it looked to be around the 50's at night. just looking for some guidance on whether i would be cold or not.

Thanks

HT

Have you weighed that blanket and sheet? Do so and get back with us.

Tinker
05-02-2009, 00:02

Thanks

HT

I'd bet on it hitting the high to mid thirties at least once.

Bring a (good) sleeping bag.

Tharg07
05-02-2009, 02:04
Yea well damn thats what I was looking for. I thought it might get rather cold. I have a bag thats rated at 20 degrees so I should be good. i appreciate the advice. this forum rocks!

HT

Egads
05-02-2009, 05:40
I checked weather and it looked to be around the 50's at night. just looking for some guidance on whether i would be cold or not.