PDA

View Full Version : new thread- more replies?

Nina
05-03-2009, 14:47
( I just copied this over)
Can I ask for some opinions and thoughts about this..
Starting out this spring in the middle somewhere and go north to maine then get back to where I started and go south? that would work well weather wise wouldn't it? and do you think its posible to get all ready in a couple of weeks, I only have a pack and a stove so far. I could put it off ANOTHER year and be more prepared - but thats also risking NOT going at all. Looking for opinions and thoughts of total strangers!? but you hike though!

Nina, get some weekend section hikes in before jumping into a thru hike

I know that is what I SHOULD do, but I have been dreaming of a thru-hike for many years. In 2004 I thought I would go 2009, after all the kids graduated. I found myself to be unprepared financially and physically and a few months ago I decieded that I will have to wait till 2010, and make sure that all is in place so that I will have a shot at finnishing. BUT I don't think I will EVER be in a good financial place to do this and I fear that if I don't go now I never will.I mean I missed the leaving georgia timeframe but there may still be hope for this year.

But even though I've been reading about it and thinking about it for so many years, it would still be like jumping into it. I have conditioned myself with 5-14 mile hikes but not with a pack.

But I feel MENTALLY prepared...or desparate I'm not sure which

thank you for your opinions (I hope)

Pacific Tortuga
05-03-2009, 15:08
wouda/schuda/coulda, just go and let the the chips land where they fly.
It sounds like you want and maybe need to go.
There is one book ? about a woman with NO camping/backpacking background, goes for a thru and makes it.
I would say having the cash to back it up, might come in handy for r&r, new gear, medical and ???????.
Good Luck and don't look back

thestin
05-03-2009, 15:14