PDA

View Full Version : Mail Drop Question. I have a selection of freeze dried food in #10 cans.

wcgornto
05-13-2009, 22:27
I begin SOBO in a month and plan to use mail drops and buy locally as well, a bit of each. I plan to parcel out the food from #10 cans into quart zip lock freezer bags. Is there any problem with doing this months in advance, e.g., moisture, spoilage, etc.? I have seen reference to vacuum sealing, but this seems a bit of overkill to me. Thoughts?

SunnyWalker
05-13-2009, 23:02
I think it will last. Although I have no experience doing it myself. I would think that you need to keep water and air from the freeze dried food. If you do that (vacum seal) it ought to last a long time.

reddenbacher
05-13-2009, 23:16
i diveyed up a lot of food 2 months before leaving.light zipplocks were the best.but to protect them i seal a mealed 10 zipps inside a large bag.then discard that at the post office.seal a meal bags were just too heaveyto carry.freeze dryed fruit is a blessing for oatmeal with olive oil.
oh seal a meal olive oil,make sure its not any more than your container can carry .i gave away a lot of olive oil.3 spoons of oil; make a big difffence in the were the wall was in the morning.i could realy tell when i didnt have it.

MileMonster
05-14-2009, 06:44
I've had no problem doing it with dehydrated foods. Be careful with other stuff, though. Once in the past I bought a big package of baby wipes and split them up into ziplocks and into various mail drops. The chemicals/smells in the wipes permeated the whole maildrop, even through ziplocks, and I could actually smell and taste it in my dehydrated food.

bigcranky
05-14-2009, 07:22
I would seal them using a vacuum sealer. The vacuum bags are much better than ziplocs -- as long as the seal stays intact, they keep out all moisture and keep in all odors. I do this for mail drops and at home for frozen food (no freezer burn.)

Blissful
05-14-2009, 10:05