PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping Bag Purchase

jrnj5k
05-15-2009, 22:14
I have a campmor 20 degree down mummy bag.....it sucks. money is no object....should i buy a 0 degree bag like the western mountaineering kodiak or should i buy a 35 degree bag like the western mountaineering highlight which only weighs 1lb?

Im torn....help

Egads
05-15-2009, 22:24
Buy a bag for the conditions you will use it. But since money is no object, buy both :rolleyes:

jrnj5k
05-15-2009, 22:26
need to pick just 1. the wintr bags perfect for winter the summer bags perfect for summer. my campmor bag is perfect for fall and spring....

cmon lets hear it

Feral Bill
05-15-2009, 22:36
How about this? (http://www.westernmountaineering.com/index.cfm?section=Products&page=Sleeping%20Bags&cat=ExtremeLite%20Series&viewpost=2&ContentId=20)

jrnj5k
05-15-2009, 22:38
give me a sales pitch please

ChinMusic
05-15-2009, 22:42
Do you feel cramped at all in a mummy bag? Wide shoulders? If so, consider a Montbell Super Stretch.

jrnj5k
05-15-2009, 22:48
nope im 5'8" 150 and sleep like a rock

Seeker
05-15-2009, 23:19
what's the lowest temperature you expect to camp in? do you just camp in the summer? just winter? 4-season? where? your 3 season may be my 4 season... i live and do most of my outdoor stuff in Louisiana. the rest of the time, it's the adirondacks or smokies in summer. lowest temps i experience in winter here are high 20s... my WM Caribou is rated to 35*F. i've had it comfortably down to 30, tolerable down to 28... it's a great bag, and WM has very conservative ratings... some others exaggerate a bit... Feathered Friends, Montbell, and Marmot come to mind as good alternatives too.

Jayboflavin04
05-15-2009, 23:37