PDA

View Full Version : What GPS to buy?

NorCalGuy
05-22-2009, 09:38
Hello all,

So what is your favorite GPS? I am a noob backpacker and still learning here. I took the REI GPS basics course last night and checked out a few different GPS models. I was told that a lot of those new iPhone looking Garmins are really just for looks, but nothing else good about them. Is there a particular model you guys would suggest? Right now I am leaning towards the DeLorme PN40…

What I am looking for in a GPS:

I am going to be using it for backpacking only (deep woods eventually)
I want a color screen (Hopefully topographical)
Needs to run off AA or AAA batteries, no rechargeable stuff please.

Idea? Comments? Concerns? Suggestions?

Thanks for the help all!!!

ki0eh
05-22-2009, 09:47
The Garmin units that end in "x" are pretty good, we use them for trail mapping. Battery life for days on regular AA alkalines on the 60CSx or 76CSx that I personally use. Can get better deals on them now that Garmin has the Colorado and Oregon. One guy I know from the trail mapping community got the Colo and returned it a week later saying it was a step back in reliability and battery life.

The DeLorme PN-20 was a disappointment in its receiver and battery life. To DeLorme's credit they contacted me based on a bitch post I had regarding this on WB. The PN-40 sales literature says they addressed many issues I had with the PN-20, and more. However right now I'm not in the market for a GPSr. With the maps the PN-40's likely cheaper than the Garmin with maps.

weary
05-22-2009, 10:02
I have the Delorme PN-20. I agree with the battery problem. I keep it on the charger most of the time. But it gets satellites even in heavy leaf cover. I use it mostly to help design and map local land trust trails. I'm tempted by the more expensive PN-40. But I think I'll wait for some user reviews.