PDA

View Full Version : What stove does Caldera Cone come with?

sierraDoug
05-27-2009, 01:42
I'm planning to make my own Caldera Cone (see other thread I started today).

Anyone who's seen one, what kind of stove does the Trail Designs Caldera Cone come with? I figure since they've done testing to get just the right stove for the Cone I'd like to use the same kind. I've seen the pictures on their website, but I'm no stove expert. And I know many of you are!

Where can I find instructions for this kind of stove?

Thanks muchly,
Doug

Marta
05-27-2009, 06:53
It's a soda can stove, but it's one that burns cooler than most. The Cone holds in so much heat that a normal stove is too hot. Also, one reason the systems saves fuel is that the stove burns less fuel than most.

Dances with Mice
05-27-2009, 08:14
The one I saw looked incredibly similar to the Kitten Stove (http://whiteblaze.net/forum/vbg/showimage.php?i=5422&catid=member&orderby=title&direction=ASC&imageuser=1030&cutoffdate=-1).

take-a-knee
05-27-2009, 08:32
The one I saw looked incredibly similar to the Kitten Stove (http://whiteblaze.net/forum/vbg/showimage.php?i=5422&catid=member&orderby=title&direction=ASC&imageuser=1030&cutoffdate=-1).

With an added priming pan.

sierraDoug
05-30-2009, 02:20

Yup, the Kitten Stove is what the Trail Designs picture looks like. BTW, I guess their primer pan is a loose piece since they sell it separately for other stoves. I had thought they glued it onto the stove.

So, DWM, do your accordion tabs help center the V8 can in the cat food can? Do they bend sideways and sort of press against the inside of the cat food can?

Doug

Squinty
05-30-2009, 04:59
I've used 4 different types of alcohol stoves under my Cone. 1)The one it arrived with, 2)a Trangia classic, 3) a homebuilt Vienna Sausage can stove and 4) a homebuilt Tasty Treat catfood can stove. I've also burned twigs and solid fuel tabs under it successfully. All worked well.

Hooch
05-30-2009, 05:46