PDA

View Full Version : Nonprofit Wilderness Education for Youth

Almost There
06-06-2009, 20:47
Hi All,

Some of you know me, although I haven't been around online, much of late. I am currently a teacher with eight years of experience, and I also have a few years of business management experience. In the past I have also worked on public policy while in college, and immediately after. In addition I have been enjoying the wilderness since my parents started taking me out the Frisco area of Colorado as a 5 year old boy.

I am in the process of putting the paperwork together to begin a nonprofit wilderness education for the youth of America. The pilot program will take place in the Atlanta metro area. If successful, I hope that in the future we will be able to open satellite chapters in other cities. It will include partnerships with area schools and youth groups, that include not only educational presentations, but also will include wilderness trips(backpacking being the medium of choice), and volunteer experiences. In addition, I hope to partner with other wilderness, and trail organizations, to help spread our ideas. My hope is to provide most services for free, or at a minimal cost to children.

Today's youth is more sedentary than ever before. In addition most wilderness youth organizations deal with inner city, or at risk youth. Also, unlike Outward Bound, which can be a rewarding experience, our focus will be more on wilderness, outdoor issues, activism, and volunteerism. While I have no intention of closing the doors on inner city youth, my intention is to reach all youth possible, regardless of socio-economic backgrounds. The goal of the organization wll be to introduce and hopefully foster a lifelong love of things doing with the wilderness to youth (ranging from ages 5-21), and our individual impact on such things.