PDA

View Full Version : Delaware Water Gap Hanging?

Knotty
06-09-2009, 18:16
Anyone know if hammock camping is allowed at the backpackers campsite in Worthington State Forest on the AT in NJ between the Delaware Water Gap and Sunfish Pond?

The backpackers campsite is the only place on the trail you're allowed to camp, but if hammocks aren't allowed you have to hike about 10+ miles so that you're no longer in the state forest, then you can camp along the trail again.

10 miles isn't much to experienced hikers, but I'm new to this, have bad hips and it's an uphill climb. I'm worried that we'll reach the backpackers site only to discover we can't hang and my hips won't let me go any further.

Would love to hear from those who know.

Thanks

Lyle
06-09-2009, 18:20
just carry a closed cell pad, then you should be able to "go to ground" for one night. Just set your tarp up, lay out your hammock/bug net underneath and use as a bivy.

take-a-knee
06-09-2009, 18:26
Anyone know if hammock camping is allowed at the backpackers campsite in Worthington State Forest on the AT in NJ between the Delaware Water Gap and Sunfish Pond?

The backpackers campsite is the only place on the trail you're allowed to camp, but if hammocks aren't allowed you have to hike about 10+ miles so that you're no longer in the state forest, then you can camp along the trail again.

10 miles isn't much to experienced hikers, but I'm new to this, have bad hips and it's an uphill climb. I'm worried that we'll reach the backpackers site only to discover we can't hang and my hips won't let me go any further.

Would love to hear from those who know.

Thanks

Just head off in the woods out of sight and hang your hammock and wait until nearly dark to put your tarp up.

Old Grouse
06-09-2009, 18:29
I'm sure it won't be a problem.

Knotty
06-09-2009, 19:29