PDA

View Full Version : Week long hike starting and stopping suggestions

bugsybrown
06-11-2009, 21:17
I am planning a week long hike the last week in July and was hoping for some suggestions for a start and end point. I have a ride that will drop me off and pick me up, so it doesn't have to be a loop. I have never hiked any portion of the AT, so it is all good for me. I am a beginner hiker.

Thanks for the help

Asher

bigcranky
06-12-2009, 08:27
I am planning a week long hike the last week in July and was hoping for some suggestions for a start and end point. I have a ride that will drop me off and pick me up, so it doesn't have to be a loop. I have never hiked any portion of the AT, so it is all good for me. I am a beginner hiker.

Hey, Asher,

There are some great 1-week hikes in the South. Given your drive time, exactly how many days do you think you'll have on the Trail? I'm going to guess 6 or 7 out of a 9-day Sat-Sun stretch.

The first and most obvious suggestion would be to get dropped off at Springer Mountain in Georgia and walk North for a week. It's rugged and scenic country, with some features that make it ideal for a beginning AT hiker. (If you start at the top of Springer, the first day is easy. At 30 miles you reach a store/hostel for resupply.) You can stop at either Unicoi Gap or Dick's Creek Gap, whichever you prefer. All of these are a moderate drive from Florida.

Here are some suggestions in North Carolina and Tennessee:

1. Winding Stair Gap north to Fontana Dam. About 60 miles, some of the toughest hiking in the South. Great section, with easy driving access at both ends and a resupply point in the middle at Nantahala Outdoor Center. This can be done in 6-7 days.