PDA

View Full Version : What do you sleep in in the summer.

jrnj5k
06-24-2009, 17:28
Now that its warmer out and the temps stay above 50 degrees at night what do you guys bring for a bag. Is just a liner sufficient? I feel like a 50 degree bag is overkill.

10-K
06-24-2009, 17:42
I'm interested in this as well.... I'm leaving to hike the AT through PA Saturday and the lows are going to be in the upper 50's/lower 60's and I was thinking about just taking my liner and leaving the bag at home.

JokerJersey
06-24-2009, 17:54
I sat down thinking about this as well, being that I have a 20 degree Big Agnes sleeping system and couldn't afford another bag just for summer. Since the BA bags have the pockets build in for the pad, I didn't want to split the two up and have to buy another pad too. Lead to a lot of thinking.

In the end, I came up with what I think is a pretty decent solution. I took my pad over to my mom's house (substitute with anyone you know who can sew well), had her measure it, sew a pocket out of sil-nylon for the mattress pad that mimic'd my BA bag, and then had her sew a fleece blanket on two sides on top of that. So now, it looks just like a normal bag, minus the zipper, but still works the same as my Big Agnes. If it's still too hot for the fleece blanket, I'll just sleep on top of it without anything over me.

10-K
06-24-2009, 18:29
I WANT to just take my liner to save the weight. Of course, if I do that it'll probably snow.

Tough call.

CrumbSnatcher
06-24-2009, 18:32
in 99' i used two bed sheets from the salvation army store in waynesboro VA.(light and real cool to the touch.) actually carried them from rockfish gap VA. to glencliff N.H. a little cold in conn. once.

Pathfinder
06-24-2009, 18:37
It depends where you are hiking but you would be surprised how cool it can get some nights towards the north. A lightweight 45 or even 35 degree bag would be best for a sleeping bag.

garlic08
06-24-2009, 18:59