PDA

View Full Version : Search and Rescue the ultimate hobby!

SARdaddy
06-26-2009, 10:27
I have been doing SAR for almost 6 years now. It has been a very rewarding "hobby" that takes up allot of my time but also gets me outside.

Any other SAR ground pounders on this site?

Jayboflavin04
06-26-2009, 10:33
I live in tuscarawas county ohio. There is actually a need for SAR here in ohio? How might I get involved?

World-Wide
06-26-2009, 11:00
I have been doing SAR for almost 6 years now. It has been a very rewarding "hobby" that takes up allot of my time but also gets me outside.

Any other SAR ground pounders on this site?

Not a SAR guy, but many of my diving certs revolve around underwater search and rescue. Underwater grids with little or no visibility is my specialty. Finding that needle-in-a-haystack underwater is my cup of tea! :D

Ridge Rat
06-26-2009, 11:02
I am on the Local USAR and WSAR teams here outside of philadelphia. Love doing technical rescues and wilderness rescues. I am a WEMT and NFPA 1006 certified rescue tech. Good to see others out there doing it.

Cannibal
06-26-2009, 11:09
Not a SAR guy, but many of my diving certs revolve around underwater search and rescue. Underwater grids with little or no visibility is my specialty. Finding that needle-in-a-haystack underwater is my cup of tea! :D
Ugh! Twelve kicks on this heading, twenty on that heading. I don't miss that one tiny little bit. Did my training in the North Atlantic; zero vis and cold as heck!

World-Wide
06-26-2009, 11:24
Ugh! Twelve kicks on this heading, twenty on that heading. I don't miss that one tiny little bit. Did my training in the North Atlantic; zero vis and cold as heck!

LMAO!! :D My controlled kick-cycle count wasn't even close to the adrenaline rushed "find the dead body" (mannequin) kick-cycle on certification day! I blew past every check-point by ten feet due the extra push of the adrealine rush! :( Settled down and eventually passed w/flying colors!! :banana

Cannibal