PDA

View Full Version : Skin So Soft

Sassy63
06-27-2009, 22:37
I am attempting my first long backpacking trip with my husband through the Grayson Highlands/ Mt. Rogers (4 days) and I could use a lot of womenly advise. I am thinking about taking skin so soft to ward off any biting insects but I don't at the same time want to smell attractive to any larger creatures as well, mainly bears, if you know what I mean. All suggestions would be great! And help with packing Summer clothing would be helpful as well, what to bring, what to expect, etc. All suggestions would be great from a womens perspective since I am a newb.

River Runner
06-27-2009, 22:44
I don't think I'd trust Skin-So-Soft on the trail for bug repellent. Deet is the most effective. Clothing treated with Permethrin & a bug head net also works.

For summer clothing, a pair of zip-off pants to wear, spare pair of underwear (wash one out at night & let dry the next day), tank top or T-shirt worn, and a very light jacket or a long sleeved shirt, and a spare pair of socks should be enough. I would also bring a clean tank & pair of shorts to sleep in. This is for warm summer weather, such as July and early August. Starting in late August/early Sept, the mountains can get cooler.

vamelungeon
06-27-2009, 22:55
http://www.snopes.com/oldwives/skeeters.asp

One word...
DEET.

Blissful
06-27-2009, 23:57
Agree take DEET by all means.

And don't bring anything cotton. It takes forever to dry if wet and if a t-storm hits and you get wind and you're wet, can you chill you down and cause problems.

I use panty liners in underwear so you can wear the underwear multiple days (be sure to pack out the liners). Washing out underwear is a pain in camp. But if it were me for four day trip, I'd take two hiking undies and one cotton pair to sleep in at night (the only thing I bring that is cotton, btw).

I'd take a rain jacket too, for camp, just in case.

River Runner
06-28-2009, 00:23