PDA

View Full Version : organic Fabric choices

rappglenn
06-28-2009, 22:05
I am just getting into the idea of making some of my own more complicated gear (packs and such) and i was wondering has anyone used ore even heard of any good light weight earth friendly fabrics to use in tents and or packs things like hemp, organic cotton and such anyone used them

Snowleopard
06-29-2009, 11:57
The best cottons are good for reliably dry and cold conditions.
A tight weave Egyptian cotton is pretty good for tents but extremely hard to find. People that do very cold weather backpacking in places like Maine and Quebec tow sleds and use canvas tents and wood stoves. Ventile cotton fabric is preferred for parkas for arctic/antarctic conditions -- very cold and very dry. Silk was used for tents 90 years ago; it isn't waterproof, but if pitched very taut sheds most of the rain.

When there is any possibility of getting wet and cold the saying "cotton kills" is true. Use cotton only
For cold/wet, wool is pretty good. Generally, for clothing: wool, a bit of silk, and down are all natural.

For packs, canvas is OK, but heavy.
All these fabrics can mold/mildew if they are left wet.

RockDoc
06-29-2009, 15:02
I admire your interest in Earth fabrics, as opposed to synthetic fabrics made from largely from oil.

One route to investigate is mountain man living history arts, specifically "period trekking". They use historically accurate packs which are not very heavy and perform fairly well in foul weather. They seem to use linen, wool, and leather. There is also info available on making period shelters, generally out of waterproofed linen. They have certain advantages (including esthetics); they are not flammable.

There is an interesting article on "Peiod Trekking" by Mark A Baker in The book of buckskinning, vol. Vi, p. 152-179. Field tested and well researched gear and methods.