PDA

View Full Version : JMT questions

EarlyBird2007
07-07-2009, 11:11
I'm an experienced backpacker who thru-hiked the AT in 2007. I'm planning a JMT southbound thru-hike starting about 8/1/09. I'm a total newbie on the JMT.

Question 1 - I'm going to do mail drops at Reds and VVR. I'd like to avoid sending a maildrop to MTR if possible. I've read in the Wenk guidebook and elsewhere that I don't really need to send a maildrop to MTR, since there is lots of food to choose from excess maildrops folks have left there, if one isn't too picky. Call it my cheapskate Scotch heritage, but I'd like to try this. I'm thinking that if all else fails I'll have enough from my VVR maildrop to get to Kearsarge Pass, and then I can hitch into Independence. Is this a realistic strategy?

Question 2 - I have two good bags, a 35 degree and a 15, both North Face. Can I get by with the 35 degree, and save about a half pound?

garbanz
07-07-2009, 12:15
I hiked the JMT southbound in 2 weeks starting Sept 1, 2007. It was an exceptionally beautiful hike with good trout fishing and dry weather. Days were warm but a couple of nights it dipped into the 30's. This is especially true if you camp above 10,000 feet. The 35 degree bag should get you by but take some warm clothes in case you have to bundle up. Yes, Muir Trail Ranch provides a wide choice of free excess hiker food and you should have no trouble filling your food bag. It was like a smorgasboard that would fill several hiker boxes and of exceptional quality. In 2007 MTR closed in mid September so you may want to check on their closure date for this year. The food drop I sent to Reds got chewed on by mice---the guy at the Reds general store said it must have went thru Death Valley PO where the mice are notorious for eating on packages they smell food in. Good Luck.

EarlyBird2007
07-07-2009, 12:32
Thanks much, Garbanz.

rt8877
07-07-2009, 13:11