PDA

View Full Version : Help!! Planning my first AT trip.

JBeachgrl
07-13-2009, 23:46
Hey... I am new to this site but would like some advice from the experienced hikers who know the AT very well :)

Here's the info:
There will be three of us driving up from central Florida to spend some time on the trail in mid August. Our goal is to drive up on a Monday, stay at a hotel to prepare the night before, and then set off early morning that Tuesday to begin our hike. We would like to spend 3 full days/nights averaging about 10-15 miles a day on the trail. We want to cover a section of the trail & do not want to backtrack at all if this is possible.

My questions are:

1. Where should we begin and finish our hike? (We would like high elevations, beautiful views, but not more than a 12 hour drive from Florida) Originally I was planning Spence Field towards Clingman's Dome but decided I better ask y'all for advice as I am new to this.

2. Once we pick our section of the trail, how do you recommend transportation to and from these points. Is it safe to park in a trail parking area or would it be best to shuttle from an offsite destination.

3. Should we carry a tent or plan at staying in shelters if we are able to secure a reservation?

4. After our backpacking adventure we would like to spend an afternoon whitewater rafting. Any ideas where?

5. Finally please share any advice you feel would be helpful. My group will consist of 3 women all healthcare professionals and in very good shape. We have all backpacked before but have always hiked with very experienced backpackers who were kind enough to let us "tag along".

jrwiesz
07-14-2009, 02:34
Hey... I am new to this site but would like some advice from the experienced hikers who know the AT very well :)

Here's the info: