PDA

View Full Version : Question about food

Lowrie
07-17-2009, 18:49
I am going to be starting a north-bound hike from Springer starting in Sept and hopefully going into late Nov. I'm not an rank amateur backpacker, but I am new to long distance hiking-like the AT offers. My typical hikes are 2-3 nights so I've never really packed food with any weight concerns in mind. I usually bring frozen stuff with me, and various other things that are not practical for long hikes. I'm trying to get some ideas on good things to bring, have sent, pack etc...I am going to have some maildrops sent and also do some resupplys on my own. Any suggestions by those of you in the know would be greatly valued....Thanks

Tin Man
07-17-2009, 18:56
There are many dried packaged dinners available in the grocery these days. Lipton pasta and rice dinners are light and tasty. Chili, jambalaya and other dishes are also readily available in dried packages. You can supplement these with chicken, tuna, shrimp, etc. packed in foil.

Lowrie
07-17-2009, 18:59
Typo above, sorry...I'm not a rank amateur....my first post ever and I messed it up.

Tin Man
07-17-2009, 19:02
Typo above, sorry...I'm not a rank amateur....my first post ever and I messed it up.

No worries. Ignore the post speller nazis and you'll be fine.

Feral Bill
07-17-2009, 19:12

They have way bigger fish to fry. Read a few threads and you will see. :welcome

Blissful
07-17-2009, 20:03
Check the Cooking & Food forum for thread ideas on what food items to bring.

ShelterLeopard
07-17-2009, 20:46
It depends on how much money you want to spend. It you have cash to burn, you could go to an outfitter (hiking gear) and just get a bunch of dried meals, but I don't recommend it. First of all, it is really expensive. Like five dollars a meal. Since you'll be hiking in the cold, you will probably want a lot of food that can be served hot.