PDA

View Full Version : Just started Hiking AT

StGeorge
07-23-2009, 16:29
Hello, this is my first post on this site. I'm somewhat new to hiking. I was doing cross-country running up until a few years ago when back problems set in and I had to stop. I started hiking local trails near me, but then one day decided to hike part of the AT, which is just 15 minutes from where I live. Within the past several months I've hiked the complete area between Duncannon, PA and Center Point Knob near Boiling Springs, PA (not far by thru-hiker standards, I realize). I'm hoping to hike more further south towards the PA/MD border and north-east across the Susquehanna River.

In any case, I'm thinking of starting to buy some good gear. One thing especially I need is a good hiking pack. At this point, I don't plan on any days-long hikes, so I'm looking more for something I can use for day-hikes--something that rests comfortably on my back and which gives me easy access to water/Gatorade bottles and other gear. Does anybody know of a good brand? Since I don't have a full-time job right now, I need to keep it under $100.

Thanks!

fredmugs
07-23-2009, 16:56
If you're only doing day hikes just get a camelbak or an equivalent hydration system.

Cool AT Breeze
07-23-2009, 17:09
Check out the Camel Back Mule.

Hoop Time
07-23-2009, 19:16