PDA

View Full Version : Montrail Hardrocks: 08 or 09?

Creaky
07-24-2009, 14:22
I've been wearing Hardrocks for a few years and it's time for a new pair. Any insight from users about whether I should stick with one of the remaining '08 models available or go with the new '09s? It looks as if there have been significant changes.

Many thanks.

trippclark
07-24-2009, 14:24
I have no first hand knowledge of either, but have heard and read that the 09 model is of much lower quality.

trippclark
07-24-2009, 14:30
I have no first hand knowledge of either, but have heard and read that the 09 model is of much lower quality.

One such post
http://www.trailjournals.com/entry.cfm?id=282907

Phreak
07-24-2009, 14:31
I wore Montrails for years but gave 'em up a couple of years ago when they drastically changed the shoe. I switched over to Salomons.

wilconow
07-24-2009, 14:54
I wore Montrails for years but gave 'em up a couple of years ago when they drastically changed the shoe. I switched over to Salomons.

Yeah, just look at the reviews on Zappos. Especially the last one from Dan in Reading.
http://outdoor.zappos.com/n/p/dp/51740513/c/180935.html

Don't mean to thread hi-jack, but which Salomons?

I have the Montrail 08s..they're okay but not so sure about durability. I think they're better than the initial Columbia design. Since the 09s look so bad, I've been checking around for a new one. Anyone have these?

http://www.altrec.com/merrell-shoes/mens-cruise-control-trail-running-shoe

What it says about Motion control sounds nice..

Summit
07-24-2009, 15:07
I recently bought a pair of Hardrock '08s. I'm not particularly impressed. They aren't bad but they're nothing special. Wore them on last hike and now I'm wearing them out walking the pavement at home. Will probably go back to my Merrell Moab Ventilators for my upcoming fall week hike.

Phreak
07-24-2009, 15:21
Yeah, just look at the reviews on Zappos. Especially the last one from Dan in Reading.