PDA

View Full Version : 3100 cu.in. pack for 4 days/3 nights?

TexasEd
07-26-2009, 02:19
What are your thoughts on this? I'm new to hiking and thought I might get a medium sized pack for my hike and strap the sleeping bag and pad to the bottom using the strap points on the bag. It's a summer trip so I don't need a lot of bulky cold gear either.

jesse
07-26-2009, 02:49
totally depends on what you try to carry in that pack. This is the kind of backpacking I do. I have a ray-way pack that is 3100cc, and is more than enough. I travel lean, but always have plenty to eat, and sleep comfortable. If you carry stuff outside your pack, make sure you are prepared for rain.

Homer&Marje
07-26-2009, 08:22
I carry tent or tarps outside the pack vs the sleeping bag. If your tent gets wet it's less of a big deal than your sleeping bag getting wet. Should keep that at the bottom inside a trash bag with your clothes.

Nasty Dog Virus
07-26-2009, 10:24
totally depends on what you try to carry in that pack.

Agreed. I recently did a 4 day / 3 night hike with a 2900 cu. in. pack.
My Gear List for that trip is here....
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=52121&highlight=gear+list
My pad was on the outside of the pack but everything else was inside.

SmokeEater
07-26-2009, 12:26
My First section hike I used a Kelty 3100 for 5 days. I had no probs with keeping everything in my pack including tent, pad and sleeping bag. But I did buy a larger pack for my next trip and enjoyed the extra space. ULE are great packs and light!

mister krabs
07-26-2009, 12:27
Definately doable in the summer, even if your gear is not the best you won't be bringing much insulation. It all depends on how bulky your shelter and sleeping system are. If all your stuff fits in a tall kitchen garbage bag, (13 gallons 3000 cu. in.) you should be good to go.

Heater
07-26-2009, 12:49