PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping Bag

HumanBN
07-27-2009, 05:04
Hello,

I did a search for sleeping bags and didn't get much regarding that subject. So, here we go. I'm looking for a light, compressable, down sleeping bag that I can use in the first section of my hike. You know what I'm talking about, when it's cold. At the moment I have a 30 degree down bag, which is nice, but I would like to go a little lower in temperature rating and gain some compression too; my bag doesn't compress as well as many others that I have seen. I like to be warm when I sleep. I'm 6 ft tall and weigh around 130lbs. So I get cold easily. Anyway, who uses what? How small does it compress to? Temperature rating? Weight? And, the most important question of them all, what is your favorite cheese?

bloodmountainman
07-27-2009, 05:50
Marmot Goose down
Compresses to the size of a softball
20 degrees
32 ounces
smoked gouda

bulldog49
07-27-2009, 09:38
Western Mountaineering are the only bags I use. You should look at the Ultra-lite 20 deg or Versalite 10 deg. In my opinion they have the best warmth to weight ratio and very compressable to boot.

Jayboflavin04
07-27-2009, 09:48
WM ultralite here. Most people will agree that their temp ratings are very conservative. Your are gonna shell out some change for a western mount bag, but it is gonna last a long time if you take good care of it.

bigcranky
07-27-2009, 11:05
WM Antelope for an early start (5-F rating.) Less than 3 pounds, compresses to a reasonable size for a winter bag. Expensive.

For a mid-March start, maybe a WM Ultralight Super. Given your size it should fit very well, with room for a down jacket inside.

Very sharp cheddar. Or aged provolone.

Lone Wolf
07-27-2009, 11:08
Hello,