PDA

View Full Version : Advice from anyone with kids

Berryj121
07-27-2009, 18:48
I am a novice hiker, I know enough to stay safe and know my limitations. I want to bring my son along, he is 4. I am not looking to take him to the appalachian trail just yet, really thinking on a overnight thru Paynes Praire, then move onto the Florida Trail. I am a paramedic, I know I can take care of any medical issues. Just wanting some input from you who have kids/grandkids, what worked best and all that stuff. Thanks

Cool AT Breeze
07-27-2009, 19:14
There is no reason a four year old cant hike a mile or two on the AT and do an over night as long as there parents are comfortable in the woods. I have a friend that hikes to Bull Gap and camps with his two year old son quite often. Both his parents are thru hikers. Take them out have fun.

Jim Adams
07-27-2009, 19:21
short miles, add mud, bugs, shallow water (puddles)...have fun!!!!!

geek

shelterbuilder
07-27-2009, 19:39
I had my son out on the AT for his first overnight at the Windsor Furnace Shelter when he was about 3 1/2. He carried a very small daypack with some personal items, some snacks, and a jacket, and I carried the rest - we did a grand total of 3/4 mile from the parking lot, made camp, supper, MARSHMELLOWS and turned in for the night (November, I think). In the morning after breakfast, we walked back to the car on a slightly different route.

Go slow (HIS pace, not yours), stop often to look at bugs, rocks, trees (whatever catches HIS interest), walk few miles, bring his favorite foods/treats, and prepare yourself to see the world through HIS eyes. Remember that the world is all new to him, and there are wonders around every bend!

Make some memories for both of you! Good luck.

Egads
07-27-2009, 19:49
I see you are hiking the Florida Trail. I'd wait for the winter cool down to hike.

Nasty Dog Virus
07-27-2009, 22:33