PDA

View Full Version : Looking For Advise And Someone Or More To Join Me As A Tru Hiker In March 2005

Catsgoing
07-19-2004, 20:51
:sun [email protected]
Hello, I am very new to hiking and I am 51 years old.
Went to Amicalola Falls this past month to @ least put my feet on Springer Mountain the start of The AT...
Which I did but came up the forrest road.
I learned it is very hard hiking with two dogs and not the right gear.
I would have attempted the 8.? hike to Springer from Amicalola and stayed in a shelter if I had ultra light gear etc.

I have the AT FEVER!!! I am not in great shape started walking a few miles each day and will build that up my speed and miles as I break in.

I WANT TO THRU HIKE THE AT I HAVEN'T ANYONE TO ANSWER TOO BUT ME! I LIVE ON MY OWN AND IT DOESN'T MATTER HOW LONG IT TAKES AS LONG AS WE GET TO KATAHDIN BEFORE OCTOBER!

No Mountains in Venice, Florida. My Mountains will be going over bridges and if it is permitted? (I have to check into going over the Sky Way Bridge in Tampa).....

I am over weight but I appear to hold my weight well as I always have done sports in the past. I Love Kayaking If You Keep Your Feet On The Foot Peg's You Will Get A Whole Body Workout. I will do that for strenghening. GYM's Bore Me Big Time!

To put it plain I have HCV and a very sick liver. I am looking for others that would want to hike with me. Starting March 2005.. Why so early just to be safe to make it and not worry so much on how many miles you put in each day.

I am retired........ And have read enough that I feel I am ready with book knowledge.
Yes, I know a book can't give you the true factors of the trail....

Anyone who has advise or might be interested in joining my goal e mail me to address up above. I would like to meet try some short hikes together to see if we or whom ever has the same speed zone. (If possible, I can drive up to Georgia).

Any questions about Hepatitis C ask me!!!
I am very honest and open about this virus.