PDA

View Full Version : Labor Day on the GAT

chefjason
08-17-2009, 09:11
Hello to all fellow Georgians ( and the rest of you I guess). As you can tell by my post count
<-----------
I am kinda new to the WB and to AT hiking. I am working towards hiking all the AT in GA and then, hopefully in 2011, a thru-hike. I was planning on knocking out a big ole chunck of GA on Labor Day weekend, from Friday the 4th around 2:30 at Neels heading NB to Dicks on Monday, unless I am faster than I think I am in which case I will make it to Bly Gap and be done with GA! I was wondering two things; have any of you been on the trail on Labor Day weekends in the past and is it crazy crowded, two; any one else up for a long weekend in the woods with a stranger? :banana I don't bite, usually.

Phreak
08-17-2009, 15:58
PM sent....

Tennessee Viking
08-17-2009, 17:15
Labor day around Neel Gap & Blood Mountain is quite crowded. Mostly day hikers, but a good size of weekend hikers. Springer, Neel Gap, & Unicoi Gap will see a lot of people coming up from the towns, like Helen & Hiawasee, to go hiking around.

chefjason
08-18-2009, 07:28
Labor day around Neel Gap & Blood Mountain is quite crowded. Mostly day hikers, but a good size of weekend hikers. Springer, Neel Gap, & Unicoi Gap will see a lot of people coming up from the towns, like Helen & Hiawasee, to go hiking around.
I was worried about that. I will jsut have to carry a big stick and smack 'em all outta my way!

unclehud
09-09-2009, 09:16
How was it? The section north of Dick's Creek Gap is usually empty.

I camped on the trail to Whitley Gap shelter and saw no one.

chefjason
09-09-2009, 09:47
How was it? The section north of Dick's Creek Gap is usually empty.

I camped on the trail to Whitley Gap shelter and saw no one.