PDA

View Full Version : how do i make the AT a reality?

jbrecon2
08-19-2009, 23:51
so has anyone else struggled with the giving it all up dilema? i hiked the virginia section in 05, and have been dreaming of thru hiking for many years but fear all that is associated with the logistics of it. getting rid of my apartment, probally having to sell my car (payment 552 a month), wondering where ill come back to, wondering if i'll still have a girlfriend...ect ect. in a way it is kind of the beauty of it, but it is scary nonetheless. the good news is that i am a nurse, so i'll find work somewhere....its just hard not knowing what im coming back to, or even where i will go when i am done
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/wb_style/statusicon/user_offline.gif

Pokey2006
08-20-2009, 02:49
I was lucky in that I had parents I could live with for a couple of months after my hike. But I was in my own apartment and working full-time within three months of my return.

Finding a place to live is easy. You could crash with friends or hook up with someone looking to rent out a room. My advice, though, would be to put aside some money to help you get settled after the hike. Resist the temptation to spend it DURING the hike.

I gave up a sweet apartment, a car, a job/career, a boyfriend, in order to hike the trail. All of those things can be easily replaced...

Doctari
08-20-2009, 12:09
EVERY DAY, FOR AT LEAST 12 YEARS!!
AND, I have wanted to hike the AT since I first saw it at Clingman's Dome in the Smokies in 1964.

Love the wife & kids, But,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Lyle
08-20-2009, 12:12
" how do i make the AT a reality?"

Simple enough. DECIDE.

That is the biggest obstacle for most. Once the decision is firmly made, everything else will work out.

brewtus dreadsmore
08-20-2009, 14:18
you have to ask yourself : what am I giving up by not hiking the trail ?
then plan for a year .
then throw wild loud partys at your apt , get kicked out .- trust me it will be fun !