PDA

View Full Version : New hiker ready to tackle the trail in 2010!

Omegajude
08-29-2009, 12:57
Hi folks.

After years of putting aside the desire to thru-hike the AT, I've decided to launch in 2010 nobo, and I couldn't be more excited about it.

As far as hiking goes, I've completed many short hikes, however usually lasting no more than a day. The walking wont be a problem (hopefully!) As far as camping goes, however, I'm a novice.

I have a targeted start date of the first or second week in March - As soon as the 2010 books/maps/guides come out I'll be gobbling them up as well.

I'll be perusing this (and other) site in the months to come. I've already read much of the information and advice that you folks have to offer. I'm sure that if I have a specific question, you'll be able to answer it! :D

Hopefully I'll see some of you on the trail next year!

Blissful
08-29-2009, 13:13
Enjoy it all!

Lyle
08-29-2009, 13:14
Welcome!

Have fun planning. Bet you have even more fun come next spring, when most of your plans fall apart. Don't worry, that's normal, just hike on and enjoy.

Omegajude
08-29-2009, 13:23
Thanks guys! I've got no gear just yet, but there's plenty of time to get stocked up and practice hoisting that pack around for a while.

I have a question..

What type of foods do you typically stock up on while out on the trail, and do you carry a portable stove (such as a Coleman stove, or the like)? I'm trying to get a feel on what to expect nutritionally (should I carry along my multivitamins?)

How about iodine and pots for boiling water?

What type of food plans have you folks enacted while hiking the AT?

Midway Sam
08-29-2009, 13:26
Thanks guys! I've got no gear just yet, but there's plenty of time to get stocked up and practice hoisting that pack around for a while.

I have a question..