PDA

View Full Version : Single wall or Double wall ??

jcramin
09-04-2009, 08:34
I am pretty new to the present day backpacking. I used to do it a lot as a Boy Scout but that was many years ago.

I am just wondering what the pros and cons of single wall and double wall tents are ?

I assume single wall will be lighter but cause more condensation ? and double wall is heavier but much less condensation ?

I used my Kelty Gunnisson 3.1 in pouring rain in cool temps and had no condensation ?

What I am trying to do is maybe have two tents, one for summer and one for winter and cold temps, for 2 people and our gear.

Thanks,
J

Lyle
09-04-2009, 09:40
Sounds like you understand the trade-offs pretty good. Double wall tents still have condensation, it just keeps it off you and your bag better. You will still have a wet fly to carry the next day. If you want a warm winter tent, pay attention to the amount of mesh comprising the inner tent. More mesh, more breeze, less condensation, less warmth.

One factor that I pay close attention to for a single wall tent especially, is how far away from your bag does the tent stay. Especially when wet or with moderate snow load. Many designs slope quite low over your feet and face - for me this is becoming a big negative.

Even in a double walled tent, if you cannot keep your bag away from the sides of the bathtub floor, you will get some wetting due to condensation.

There seems to be a continuum of designs out there (a very good, if confusing thing), the trick is to get the feature set that fits you best.

Another good thing, is that there is a good market for used tents, especially those with a good reputation, so you can try one or two without totally destroying your finances.

By the way, if you can limit yourself to just two tents, CONGRATULATIONS!!! :D

Good luck and HAVE FUN.

jcramin
09-04-2009, 09:53
By the way, if you can limit yourself to just two tents, CONGRATULATIONS!!! :D

Good luck and HAVE FUN.