PDA

View Full Version : SteriPen

spreadx1
09-05-2009, 15:09
I know there are a lot of Steripen users/experts on here. I had been looking at buying the Adventurer ($99), but just saw the 'Safe Water System" on sale for $69, which includes the SteriPEN Classic purifier, water bottle prefilter, 1-liter BPA-free wide-mouth water bottle.
http://www.rei.com/product/784449

Does anyone have any thoughts on this versus the Adventurer? I'm pretty new at this and only get to hike a few times a year, so looking for some advice. Thanks in advance!

Wags
09-06-2009, 11:04
the "classic" is what i own. it uses AA batteries which are very easy to resupply. the adventurer uses little watch type batteries and can become a pain to resupply... i think that's a great price for a water system

lazy river road
09-06-2009, 11:16
wags good info i im glad you told me about the classis and double A batteries...Id rather have that then watch batteries seems much easier to get replacements..

Lybarger
09-06-2009, 11:56
Try and keep it simple on the trail. SteriPens are too unreliable. Stick with Aqua Mira.

Summit
09-06-2009, 20:12
Just get the classic or Adventurer. I got this system, but not for $69 . . . that is a great price. But the water bottle is heavier than Nalgene bottles and the the threads stripped on the cap in a very short time. I don't use the pre-filter at all anymore . . . tried it a couple of times and as others have suggested, not worth its weight considering how seldom you need it (on the AT), when a bandana, coffee filter, or stocking hose will do just as well.

lazy river road
09-06-2009, 20:18
hey summit is this the steri pen you have...ive been reading a lot of your post on this...i was considering buying this but should I get the Steri Adventurer or the other model they have what is the difference in the models besides weight...i want to get it right the first time I do it...I also have chlorine tablets as back up as well

Rain Man
09-06-2009, 23:16