PDA

View Full Version : Bad Bug Year

Jack Tarlin
09-06-2009, 20:20
Lots of the hikers we've had stay with us this year commented on how bad the mosquitos were this year, especially in Connecticut and Massachusetts.

I had originally assumed that this was mainly due to the continual wet weather; i.e., when it rains a lot, as it did all spring and summer, water tends to pool up and collect in various places meaning more mosquitos a few weeks down the line.

Heard an interesting alternative theory today. Apparently there's been some sort of blight in the East that's killed off thousands of bats. Bats eat hundreds, if not thousands of mosquitos a day, so if an area all of a sudden becomes bat-free, it means there are an awful lot of extra mosquitos in the neighborhood.

Any biologists out there want to comment on this?

Any thoughts on this?

Tinker
09-06-2009, 20:26
Nope. I'm a brain surgeon :D.
The logic is right, though. Someone needs to breed dragonflies. I know they prey on mosquitoes.

Elder
09-06-2009, 21:28
:D You are correct Jack! (:eek:) :)

It is called White-nose Syndrome and is 100% fatal. There have been many die-offs in the North east and down into Virginia.:(
There is so far no cure/treatment. The fungus forms on the nose area and disturbs their hibernation. Awakening early, with no food source...reserves of energy deplete. They do not survive.
There was/has been some question about potential human transmission..meaning humans in bat caves "carrying" WNS to other caves on gear etc. :confused:
Best guess is bat to bat..
And Yes. They are Not eating the skeeters! :eek:

Oh, and a wet year!

Bulldawg
09-06-2009, 21:46