PDA

View Full Version : Clean air act's derailment

frankcornbread
07-28-2004, 10:23
I'm sure this will cause some heated debate, which isn't all bad, but I just felt this issue hits pretty close to home. Forgive me if I have placed this in the wrong forum, I'm new to this process ( thread starting and forums in general.)

Appalachian Voices is an org. devoted to environmental and quality of life issues in the southern Appalachains, the home of a substantial part of our beloved AT. Their most recent issue of Appalachian Voice offers a report on air quality in our national parks. To note, GSMNP is the MOST polluted with SNP third on the list. This more than a decade after the signing of the first CAA by George Bush Sr. In the years since the signing our air quality has gotten worse, not better. Heavy contributions to pollution friendly politicians and subsequent lax enforcement of CAA regs are suspected causes of this sad situation. To make matters worse, the current admin. is proposing modification to the CAA that would that would make it legal to do in the open what has been done under the table since the act was signed. They are proposing to weaken an already failed act rather than fix whats wrong, ie. enforcement. This issue hits VERY close to home I would think, in light of the AT's existence within the boundaries of these polluted parks. Of note, there were 100 days last year when ozone levels were so high that it was recommended to not exert oneself within the boundaries of the GSMNP. How about hiking. Thats not too strenuous, is it? If there was ever one singular issue to rally around and generate a passion to get out the vote, I truly believe this to be it.