PDA

View Full Version : trail legs

downes911
09-16-2009, 22:42
okay I'm a newbie and went out on the Knobstone Trail in southern IN, which they also call the "lil appalachian". After two days and some very steep hills (not mountains but hills), i was having to stop every 20 feet or so to catch my breath, cmon now i think i'm in pretty decent shape but really every 20 feet.
How long should i expect it to take before my "trail legs" and "trail breathing" kicks in.

modiyooch
09-16-2009, 23:10
that concerns me. my trail legs have nothing to do with my breathing. It concerns me because in May I went hiking with a gentleman that had similar problems and he had a major heart attack 3 days later. He kept having to take a breather, and neither on of us even considered his heart.

ChinMusic
09-16-2009, 23:13
The Knobstone is an *** kicker. You are correct that it is not mountains but I find the Knobstone tougher on me than the AT.

What pace did you have on your day(s)?

hikingshoes
09-16-2009, 23:17
i did that and i when to the VA to get a stress test,it checked ok.but i know what it was i was being on the safe side,now i got a bike and im up to 3miles now.

chiefduffy
09-17-2009, 03:10
To answer your question, it takes me 2 to 3 weeks on the trail to get my trail legs and wind. Maybe 5-6 weeks for peak shape. 'Course, then the shin splints kick in, if I go too fast....
YMMV

- Duffy

Kerosene
09-17-2009, 06:40
It probably varies by your aerobic conditioning also. I've been a regular soccer player up until this year (osteoarthritis kicked in), so it usually takes me 3 days to get my 'trail legs'. However, my aerobic capacity is pretty good right from the start. About 10-12 days in, if I'm out that long, I have reached another level of endurance. It's amazing what the human body can do.