PDA

View Full Version : Hiking Club

Peanut
09-20-2009, 19:15
Hi everyone!! I'm an elementary school teacher and will be starting a hiking club at the school where I teach. It will include only 4th and 5th graders (9-10ish years old). We will meet twice a month, once for planning and other info (focusing on different Leave No Trace concepts such as being prepared, etc... . We will also talk about first aid. ) The other day will be the hike day. We will meet at the trailhead (no buses/school vans) and hike for about an hour. I'm looking for any help you can offer. I have decent hiking experience. I'm wondering if any of you out there have any ideas of other topics we can explore on their level during the planning meeting, or anything else you can help with. For Marylanders, we will be hiking in Patapsco Valley SP.(and one longer weekend hike to the AT near Frederick)..our school is just outside the city on the SW side. So any other ideas of places very close by where we can hike would be appreciated. Thanks so much!! Happy trails!

Feral Bill
09-20-2009, 21:13
Best of luck with this worthy venture. Don't underestimate the little guys.

LIhikers
09-20-2009, 22:57
Let me suggest you contact a Whiteblaze member named gsingjane, you can find her on the members list. I know she runs hikes and backpacking trips for girl scouts. I would be surprised if she didn't have some good advice for you.

Lilred
09-20-2009, 23:00
You may want to look into insurance for your group, especially if this is a school sponsored organization. You might be able to get some through your local boy scout troop very cheaply. Around $10 per student.

hikingshoes
09-20-2009, 23:27
Ms.Lilred is on to something there.Id also have some consent forums to cover your organization.Plus a detailed list on the courses,P.O.C.lists on who to call,and a chain of com.(copy for mom/dad).maybe alittle over the top.but thats my 2cents.Hope it helps.Charles:)