PDA

View Full Version : Rain on the AT in NE GA

cowpoke
09-21-2009, 17:12
OK...don't pound me to hard...but getting ready to head-out for section hike in GA and just saw weather channel and NE GA is getting flooded...anyone know what conditions are like on the trail...might be a stupid question so sorry...but I'm fairly new to this and still working on my backpacking skills. Thanks and cheers, bill

dreamsoftrails
09-21-2009, 17:14
when are you leaving?

royalusa
09-21-2009, 17:14
What section of GA are you doing? All of GA?

Cool AT Breeze
09-21-2009, 17:18
Not a stupid queston. I would not hike right now, the trail is like a river. Most hikers are off the trail now waiting it out. Those that arn't off, are very wet.

toccoaspinner
09-21-2009, 17:44
I left last monday the 14th and made it to Neels Gap. I came home to wait out the storm to finish the last half of GA. I'm going back on the 27th or 28th. The folks at Mountain Crossings (Neels Gap store) were suggesting not to hike during this mess.

toccoaspinner
09-21-2009, 17:46
Hey Cool Breeze! I met you at the store last Friday! Alpine was hooking me up w/ all kinds of new gear and you were quite helpful too! This is Mr. Clean by the way.

Chaco Taco
09-21-2009, 17:47
Aint supposed to stop til Sunday

Chaco Taco
09-21-2009, 17:48
Not a stupid queston. I would not hike right now, the trail is like a river. Most hikers are off the trail now waiting it out. Those that arn't off, are very wet.

FLick Bilge Rat in the nads for me:D

Boliche
09-21-2009, 18:11
It is now reported that North GA has a 100 year rain fall going for it. Rain to continue for at least another 2 days.

cowpoke
09-21-2009, 18:20
Was going to walk south from Woody Gap to Springer and then jump up to Unicoi Gap and walk to Dick's Creek Gap...starting this coming Saturday..26th...that's the current plan but my decide to delay a day or two...thanks all for the responses...cheers, bill

energy_turtle
09-21-2009, 18:24