PDA

View Full Version : The dog question.

rusane
09-23-2009, 01:03
I'm new to the AT, and this site. I started hiking because I got a dog. I was surprised to find the dog question so controversial. I never realized how many people had negative dog encounters on the trail. All of the complaints I read seemed like they would be non-issues if handlers used common sense - evidently it's not as common as I thought. The sticky at the top of the dog forum suggests posting here if you want to discuss the issue of dogs on the trail, but I didn't find a single poll with the word 'dog' in the title. I found the 'debates' I read seemed evenly split one way or the other, but I wanted to see a poll - so I made one.

skinewmexico
09-23-2009, 03:30
I like dogs, but I'd sure hate to have to mess with the care and feeding and gear for one of the trail.

eagled
09-23-2009, 05:14
In March of 1999, I set out with my Chesapeake Bay Retriever, Sagan, on an attempt to thru hike the AT. It was a very interesting experience. Sagan was an extremely good hiker but not such a good camper.

I made several mistakes. First of all, I think I should have carried a tent instead of just a tarp. When I was trying to get Sagan to lie down and go to sleep, he would not relax and go to sleep because he was trying to look out into the woods and would not relax. I feel like if we would have been inside a tent, he would have relaxed.

The second big mistake I made was I cut the ends off of the belly strap that is on the dog backpack. I cut the strap shorter so that it would not flop around underneath him when he was walking. This turned out to be a stupid mistake because the nylon strap came unraveled during the first day of our hike.

I was amazed at how good of a hiker Sagan was. He would walk out in front of me for about 20 yards and always stay on the trail. Sometimes he would hike up to the top of a hill and then just sit there and wait for me to catch up with him.