PDA

View Full Version : Gearlist for a NOBO Thru, late Feb start

BrianLe
09-24-2009, 14:32
My current gearlist for an Appalachian Trail NOBO thru-hike is at
http://tinyurl.com/mjurzb (http://www.backpackinglight.com/backpackinglight/forums/gear_lists/67fe0ded6ca475f01b01ecc540a5d632.pdf)
(pdf file)
Thanks in advance for any sort of feedback on this; I have some decent backpacking experience, but virtually none in the Eastern U.S.

I plan to start on the trail in late Feb, and thus have nearly 2 pounds (30.3 oz) of additional clothing that I'll start with and mail home from Pearisburg (NOBO 625 or so, after Mt. Rogers etc). It's possible that I'll mail some of these things home sooner, and I'll get at least some of them back just before entering the Whites in New Hampshire. In addition to clothing I'll swap sleeping bags at Pearisburg, saving a bit over 10 oz there. FWIW, I plan on five resupply boxes (Fontana Dam NC, Pearisbug VA, Harpers Ferry WV, Kent CT, and Glencliff NH).

My focus with this gear list isn't just about weight, but on getting the right balance between weight and safety/comfort/happiness that feels best to me personally. This seems to currently fall out at a 16.3 pound base weight to start, dropping to about 13.5 pounds for the middle 1000+ miles or so. Ideas to bring this down will be gratefully received (whether implemented or not ...).

I've tried to be very complete with this list; toilet paper isn't listed (a consumeable), though I will carry it, something on the order perhaps of 1 - 2 oz (lots of pit toilets along the AT). Rather than "glacier glasses", I might just carry cheap drugstore sunglasses for the AT. But apart from the occasional minor tweak like that, it should really cover everything.