PDA

View Full Version : Naive bear canister Q

blue_bus
08-07-2004, 13:41
Hi all,
I'm new to hiking in this part of the world...and to the bear issue so maybe my question is silly - bear with me (pun intended..)
I understand that the main tradeoff is the weight and bulk of the canisters vs. the certainty they offer. I also understood that the bears are attracted by the odors...so how about the following (this is not intended to raise the take/not take canister issue or the can/ursack issue):
1. I divide my food into small portions each one packed in a sealed odor tight pouch ( there are some types that you can heat seal and are sturdy enough - they have a semi metallic finish, or maybe just a zip loc) and then maybe wash them b4 I travel so as to make sure no odors stick to the outside.
2. Carry these pouches in my pack - the bears wont come 4 them.
3.Open a pouch and eat away from my tent etc.
4.Carry a very small can that I can stuff the empty pouches in and hang from a tree.
Is this reasonable? or am I missing something?
-mike

eyahiker
08-07-2004, 14:22
1. I divide my food into small portions each one packed in a sealed odor tight pouch ( there are some types that you can heat seal and are sturdy enough - they have a semi metallic finish, or maybe just a zip loc) and then maybe wash them b4 I travel so as to make sure no odors stick to the outside.
-mike
Bears can smell the food.

Hang your food at night, there's some great info on this site in other threads about this, as well as on the net.

I have never heard of a bear chasing a person during the day for the food in their pack, or for an opened power bar ( east coast).

illininagel
08-07-2004, 18:10
Carry a very small can that I can stuff the empty pouches in and hang from a tree.
Is this reasonable? or am I missing something?

What kind of very small can will hold several days of food and still weigh less than the stuff sack that most hikers use for this purpose?

steve hiker
08-07-2004, 19:21