PDA

View Full Version : New To The Forum

Scruffy
10-10-2009, 17:39
Hello all,

My trail name is Scruffy. I decided to do a AT thru hike starting March 1,2010 from Springer Mtn.
I do have some experience at 4 day hikes but that is about it.
I am just starting the planning process and getting back in shape:)
I have the 2009 data book and the 2009 hikers companion on the way from amazon to help with the planning.
I have been doing a lot of reading here on the forum and learned alot. So thanks to who ever done all the different articles.
I am looking forward to what yall (I am from the south) can teach me to make my first thru hike a success.:sun
Also I am a ham radio operator ( KG4ENB ) and I have hike for a few days with a HF rig. Does anyone have experience with taking a hf radio on a thru hike?

Feral Bill
10-10-2009, 17:57
:welcome Welcome to White Blaze. Plenty of info here. Note the search function and have fun.

Spokes
10-10-2009, 18:30
Hi Scruffy. This is Spokes (KD4VUA). I think there was a small article in a recent ATC Journeys edition about a hiker who carried a small morse code tuna can rig. My HF rig has been in mothballs for years. Maybe I shoud fire it up?

Good luck in your planning!

Pacific Tortuga
10-10-2009, 18:33
:welcome You should do fine. Bring the radio or not, when you get tired of carrying it, mail it home.

Blissful
10-10-2009, 19:22
Hi Scruffy. Get your gear and go take a hike! Adventure of Lifetime (to take Ed Garvey's phrase). :)

ridgerunninrat81
10-11-2009, 00:54
Agree the trip of a lifetime, Plan, Enjoy

MintakaCat
10-11-2009, 08:12
Welcome to WB. I've had my amateur license for 33 years but I've never taken an HF rig with me. With the weight issue it will need to be a QRP rig as I think you already know that. Because of that you're going to need to spend some time stringing up a wire antenna.