PDA

View Full Version : Texsport Bivy Tent

bondboy
08-09-2004, 22:22
For The Past Several Months There Have Been Hundreds Of The Texsport Bivy Tents For Sale On Ebay In The 30.00 Dollar Range...has Anyone Used This Tent.....?

HikeLite
08-09-2004, 22:30
I've seen someone mentioning the texsport knollwood bivy tent as a good cheap tent in the three pound range. I have no experience myself with these tents.

JimSproul
08-10-2004, 12:23
I bought on of these Texsport tents from ebay. First, it has a poor design in that the unprotected door zipper is directly exposed to rain because of the angle of the door. Second, I set the tent up in my yard with a storm on the way. The back end ripped out! This is a not a quality product. Single sewn seams, no tape, etc...

For about $100 I bought a Roadster from REI (under 4 pounds) and have used it for many miles, in all kinds of weather. Including a VERY cold night in blowing wind camp on Springer Mountain in ealry march this year.

sgtjinx
08-10-2004, 12:51
If you spend the money on a cheap tent. You pay for what you get! Remember that the tent will be your home out there. Look at www.campmor.com (http://www.campmor.com/) or even www.rei.com (http://www.rei.com/) They have a nice selaction of tents at a good price.

Nothing sucks more than having a water dripping on you all night.;) Cheap sounds good but in the long run, you'll be dry and happy. Not wet and pissest.

Brycen
08-11-2004, 12:18