PDA

View Full Version : Water Safety

Procras108r
10-15-2009, 13:06
I am not a great fan of the taste of most chemical purifying systems. Yes, I know I can add packets of various flavorings......but I wonder if it is feasible or wise to boil all the water for my needs?

With so many nearby towns, the fuel load should not be that great, but I would have to boil all my water for that day's hike each morning or previous evening. Hell, there is plenty of time.

Am I missing something? I am new to hiking and would like some of your expert opinions.

Mags
10-15-2009, 13:12
Don't know how expert I am...

But, boiling water for a whole day? Yeah..it is going to take a lot of fuel..and be time consuming AND it is going to weigh a lot (approx 2 lbs per lit). Assuming you drink oh..let's say a gallon a day..that's 8 lbs of water.

Here's the Q&D on water treatment IMO:
http://www.pmags.com/joomla/index.php/Backpacking-and-Hiking-documents/Backpacking-A-Beginners-Primer.html

Four common ways to treat water are:

1) Boiling Boiling water to a rolling boil will kill nasties in the water. But, it takes very long, makes the water tastes flat, and uses lots of fuel. Most use boiling as a last resort only

2) Chemically Using iodine is the old standby for water treatment up until recently. Typically known as “Portable Aqua” these tabs will treat one liter of water each. They take longer to treat water than a filter/purifier but are lighter and less complex than the filters. Iodine does have an aftertaste that some people do not like. You can also use iodine crystals (i.e. Polar Pure) and a newer chemical treatment known as Aqua Mira. Aqua Mira takes less time to treat water than iodine and is a two stage chemical process.