PDA

View Full Version : You're doing it wrong but don't care

Glenn
10-20-2009, 13:43
You're wearing jeans, tennis shoes, and got the family tent on your back. You have cans of soup and plan on starting a campfire. Any ultra-heavy campers out there? This is not me but my gear is old and wonder what others think.

Jack Tarlin
10-20-2009, 13:48
I think that folks need to decide for themselves what they want to carry, and at the end of the day, it's nobody else's business.

People spend altogether too much time speculating and commenting on what other folks are doing out there and what their pack weighs. Most of these comments are snarky and gossipy. People should carry what they like, and they should like what they carry, and they have no obligation to explain or rationalize this to anyone.

lazy river road
10-20-2009, 13:51
Im a total newb....Before I decided to E2E...I loaded up my non-framed pack, my marmot aura 3p, wisperlight international, lafuma 40, some soup, other random cans of food, one change of cloths and a couple other essentials Id need on a extended hike...I went for a 4 hr hike and was miserable.....it was then i decided that proper gear was a must if seriously considering a long distance hike.....I have started investing in lighter gear and a much better pack...IDK if this answers your question but lighter is def better.....

Dancer
10-20-2009, 14:01