PDA

View Full Version : food storage

UCONNMike
08-15-2004, 11:22
I am packin up my food for my hike, and i started doubting the ziplock bags i was using, i am worried that thye might open up on me, i have two different kinds, the ones with the acctual zipper on top and then a heavy duty freezer bag with the traditional push down on the strip kind. what bags will give me more confidence holding things like my trail mix, instant coffee, and rice?

Youngblood
08-15-2004, 11:36
I'm no expert on this but my experience is that any of them can fail but that the closure system on the name brand ones work more reliably than the off brand ones and that freezer bags are more durable than the regular strength bags.

When I pack the types of items you mention, I try to double bag them in some fashion. For instance, I may use snack size zip-lock bags for oatmill and put 4 days worth of those into 1 qt size zip-lock bag. My 4 oz plastic bottle of olive oil goes inside two qt size zip-lock bags because of the damage it can do if it leaks.

Youngblood

Frosty
08-15-2004, 11:40
I am packin up my food for my hike, and i started doubting the ziplock bags i was using, i am worried that thye might open up on me, i have two different kinds, the ones with the acctual zipper on top and then a heavy duty freezer bag with the traditional push down on the strip kind. what bags will give me more confidence holding things like my trail mix, instant coffee, and rice?I like the kinds without the actual zipper. I pack my extra clothes in Ziploc bags, and squish them down before closing to reduce bulk. Air eventually leaks back into all the bags, but much more quickly into the zipper/slider ones.

The key to avoiding bags opening in a backpack is to underfill them. Use two bags one third full rather than one bag two thirds full. The bags will get pushed and squeezed in your pack, and a bag with little space left will open much quicker.