PDA

View Full Version : How cold does it get?

Guy
11-05-2009, 15:00
This is a question for the PCT veterans. How cold was the coldest temp that you experienced on your thru-hike?

I'm finding that most of the advice that I read is that it gets COLD on the PCT.

Having grown up in Minnesota, and lived for 15 years in California, I can tell you that standards for what is and isn't cold is different from place to place.

My personal threshold for what is cold is 0 degrees Fahrenheit. Is subzero temps something that can be expected? I've got a lot of backcountry experience in cold weather, but none at high elevations. How does altitude change the equation?

Thanks!

garlic08
11-05-2009, 15:56
The PCT during normal NOBO thru hiking season really isn't all that cold. You start in the desert in late April, you're in the high Sierra in June, and in the North Cascades in September. Not exactly extreme. The lowest temp I experienced was in the high Sierra, maybe high teens F. That was no problem because it was mostly dry. The coldest I got to hypothermia was in several days of heavy rain in Washington, though the temps were in the low 40s. Most hikers do very well with a 20F down bag the whole way and very little extra warm clothing.

Altitudes along the PCT don't affect the way you feel temperature too much, as long as you eat and hydrate well and are generally healthy, which is pretty much assumed if you've walked far enough to get into those altitudes. You hike above 13,000' once and 12,000' several times, and it's easy enough to sleep at 9 to 10,000'. And you don't get there all at once from sea level. There's a long steady climb from the desert.

Guy
11-05-2009, 16:12
Awesome! That's exactly what I wanted to hear. That gives me a lot of confidence that I can deal with this. Well... As far as temperature goes, at any rate...

royalusa
11-05-2009, 20:11
Garlic, can you shed some more light on what evening temps to expect outside the Sierras on a "normal" NOBO season.