PDA

View Full Version : Gear List Shakedown

mattabbotts
11-09-2009, 00:13
Hey everyone, I thru hiked the AT in '08, trail name Marathon, and now my fiance and I have decided to give the PCT a shot next year. I am looking for some gear advice, or advice in general on making the transition out west.

The biggest challenges seem to be adapting to the desert and the high Alpine. I have some experience up high but haven't done much hiking without water. Any thoughts by anyone who has done the PCT would much appreciated.

I posted my gear list on my website and would love get any feedback you guys might have.

http://www.asuperioradventure.com/superioradven/?p=206

Thanks a ton in advance.

Matt Abbotts
ASuperiorAdventure.com (http://www.asuperioradventure.com)

Jack Tarlin
11-09-2009, 00:33
Matt:

You might wanna run your list by Jester2000 who posts here. He recently hiked the PCT plus he runs an Outfitter shop so I'll bet he has all sorts of ideas for you.

Dogwood
11-09-2009, 00:40
Said it before, will say it again. The most helpful aid in managing your water on the PCT, especially in the desert, is to get up to date water reports put out regularly by the PCT during typical PCT thru-hiker season. You can also get them at the PCT Kickoff. With the water reports also get snow reports. They will help you immensely!

The PCTA has a lot of free info about preparing for the the PCT and what to expect where. You will also find decent prep material in the PCT Trail Description Books which you should have anyway.

handlebar
11-09-2009, 11:23
Looked for your gear list. Didn't find it. How about cross posting here if you want comments.

mattabbotts
11-09-2009, 12:09
The link didn't work for some reason. It should be up now if you want to check it out:

Gear List (http://www.asuperioradventure.com/superioradven/?p=206)

or you can see the google doc:

HERE (http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0ArkqMV4fqPaTdDZlcl85UGxRc1U4bkFYUFl0TnpLN Wc&hl=en)