PDA

View Full Version : Trail around Port Clinton

wilSwim
11-12-2009, 15:10
OFF TOPIC:
How is the AT around Port Clinton? I am new to backpacking and planning on hiking it this weekend. Also is how is the pinnacle trail, we will be hiking out of Wieser State Forest and I would love some info from people who have been there...

emerald
11-12-2009, 15:21
Much has been posted although it might not be easy to find.

I put you on my contacts list. Please PM me with your specific questions. I may be able to answer them myself or help you find the information you seek. Whatever you can't find and want to know is of interest to me.

Maybe we need a new thread to answer your questions. I'll respond to any PM you send late tonight.

Wise Old Owl
11-12-2009, 18:35
OFF TOPIC:
How is the AT around Port Clinton? I am new to backpacking and planning on hiking it this weekend. Also is how is the pinnacle trail, we will be hiking out of Wieser State Forest and I would love some info from people who have been there...
http://i250.photobucket.com/albums/gg275/MarkSwarbrick/PortClinton.jpg

Panzer1
11-12-2009, 18:41
OFF TOPIC:

I stayed there about 2 weeks ago. I did the free camping thing. I ended getting rained out just like you're going to get rained out this weekend.:mad:

Panzer
ps bring plenty of rain gear. :D

Blue Jay
11-12-2009, 18:43
OFF TOPIC:

As the map shows its a little steep into and out of town in either direction, but I find both directions to be very beautiful.

wilSwim
11-12-2009, 21:45
Thanks owl and others the map is great. Where is that found?

emerald
11-12-2009, 23:28
Good idea separating these posts to create another thread!:)

Bags4266
11-12-2009, 23:30
I have to disagree with you Blue Jay. The AT SOBO of Port Clinton is a Forest Getto. I just came thru there. 18m So. of town is horrible. Down trees, wet swamp like, no views. Couldn't wait to get out. NOBO of Port Clinton is nice though all the way up to the Pinnacle.

nox
11-12-2009, 23:35