PDA

View Full Version : 2010 Thru Hike Partner(s) WANTED

mali
11-13-2009, 14:14
Hello world :)

I'm a student interested in completing a northbound thru-hike this summer.

I want to finish in 100 days.

My break from university begins on June 11, so I would be interested in hiking perhaps June 11 - September 19.

I'm hoping to find either a group I can join, or several other thru-hikers who would be willing to accompany me.

Friendship is important in a companion;
If you're wondering if you'll like me, how's this:
-I love The Beatles, guitar, and any kind of music.
-I'm vegetarian.
-I'm pursuing a degree in either Sociology, Anthropology, or International Area Studies.
-For fun, I like to read, write, run, play music, and bike.

Let me know if you have any questions, comments, tips, or fun facts.
Thanks!

:banana lovin life ;)
--Mali

ShelterLeopard
11-13-2009, 14:34
Just out of curiosity, have you ever done a long hike before? (A week plus?)

Dirty Harry
11-13-2009, 14:50
Mabe I see you out there Mali, going south, going north I'm not sure on my plans yet. 100 days is duable if your in good shape, but remember you really have to go into it from the start, no eazin into it.

mali
11-13-2009, 15:00
I have done week hikes and weekend hikes.

I am also very in shape, used to running every day and pretty athletic.

gravy4601
11-13-2009, 16:00
you should just drive emagin all the stuff your going to miss anyway while your running down the trail i'd suggest taking your time to enjoy the time your out there youll get more out of it in the long

Deadeye
11-13-2009, 19:08
I kinda get grumpy when folks insist that I (or anyone else) slow down. I was hiking once, at a pretty good clip, when this guy says "Hey, slow down and enjoy yourself!"

To which I replied "what makes you think I'm NOT enjoying myself?"