PDA

View Full Version : dumb and dumber

squeezebox
11-14-2009, 20:51
I'm a newbie and have been lurking to find out all the to do things. thanks all of you!!
I would like to hear some of the dumb stuff you have seen people bring.
I did a bicycle trip in Europe 30 years ago, and I thought the person who brought a hammer for tent pegs was dumb, until I saw the person with a 3 inch steel ball welded to a peice of gas pipe. I can't imagine how much that thing weighed.

What not to bring is also important

sheepdog
11-14-2009, 23:27
I saw a dude with a 6 volt flashlight. Must have weighed 2 lbs.

warraghiyagey
11-14-2009, 23:39
Saw a dude carry a metal hub cap. . .

Oklahoma
11-14-2009, 23:46
I saw some hiker with a come-along pulley. He said it was for tightening his hammock.The thing must have weighed 5 pounds.

sbhikes
11-15-2009, 00:44
I felt pretty dumb not carrying a big huge can of DEET through Oregon in July.

The Solemates
11-15-2009, 15:43
Ive been several times before and seen people carrying their own firewood. Like a whole backpack full and hiking in over 5 miles.

The Weasel
11-15-2009, 16:22
College graduate from Auburn, in '00 attempting a thru as his 'graduation trip', camping by us just north of Walasi-Yi, had carried - from Springer -

-- 3-4 large cans of Dinty Moore Stew
-- 3-4 cans of beef chili
-- 2 boxes of cereal (Cocoa-Puffs and something else)
-- Gallon (half gone) of milk
-- Bag (5#?) of potatoes
-- 8 rolls of TP
-- Flashlight (D cells) and 10 extra batteries
-- 3 boxes Blue Tip matches
-- Gallon (most remaining) Coleman fuel
-- Canvas (heavy) tarp as shelter
-- Steel handaxe

He asked for advice on what to do to lighten his pack. We had a pretty good feed that night.

TW

Tin Man
11-15-2009, 17:21
folding shovel, hatchet, folding chair...

... i leave them home now

gunner76
11-15-2009, 17:52