PDA

View Full Version : life expectancy of homemade alch stove?

trapezeboy
11-15-2009, 12:42
So I'm considering making a alch stove from recycled materials (beer/soda cans), but I was curious about how durable the stoves are. I haven't been able to find anything about them wearing out from google searching, so I figured someone around here might have some experience. Thanks!

kayak karl
11-15-2009, 12:45
So I'm considering making a alch stove from recycled materials (beer/soda cans), but I was curious about how durable the stoves are. I haven't been able to find anything about them wearing out from google searching, so I figured someone around here might have some experience. Thanks!
you will step on it or crush it in you pack before it wares out. regardless not much of an investment loss.

Lyle
11-15-2009, 13:05
I've been using the same stove for several years. While not on a long-distance hike, has been used for at least 800 miles or so. No sign of damage or wearing out. This was an AntiGravity stove, so not home made, but a pepsi can stove.

brooklynkayak
11-15-2009, 13:06
There have been many cases of alky stoves lasting more than a whole thru-hike. Keep it in some sort of protected area of your pack, maybe your pot, mug,...

If you should crush it, you can ,make an ugly version with a pocket knife and a can or two, depending on the design you chose.

Since there are no moving parts, there is nothing to wear out.
Can't say the same for all the fiddly bits that fail on other stoves, gaskets crack, threads strip, valves leak, ....

bullseye
11-15-2009, 13:20
I always wrap mine in a bandana or piece of pack towel, and throw inside my cookpot. Like KK said, you'll probably ruin it before it'll wear out.

garlic08
11-15-2009, 14:31
Ditto all the above. If you depend on one to eat, it's best to be able to make one in case you do step on it. Any road crossing you'll find the raw materials, and a pocket knife is the only tool you need to get an ugly one working.