PDA

View Full Version : nerve damaged foot

squeezebox
11-15-2009, 16:39
About 2 years ago i had a knife accident that cut the nerve in my leg about 6 in. above my left ankle. the top of my foot is unaffected. but the bottom of my foot shows with "pins and needles' sensations. chronic dull pain varies in intensity. and severe dull pain if i step on something, stepping on a pencil or such barefoot will nearly bring me to my knees. I seem to favor that foot and my left ankle seems to be weaker.
So what to do?
It has been suggested to get heavy stiffer boots. For more ankle support, and thicker sole so that stepped on rocks etc. will cause less localized pain in the bottom of my foot.
Massage helps some, as well as hot soaks. I can handle day to day activities with little slowing down. but I'm concerned that a thru hike might be disabling.
This is not plantars fasceitis, I had a touch of that and healed.
I'm a newbie and don't even have boots yet. I do have 5 months to train etc.
I would like to hear from others with neuropathy issues.
The anatomy of carpel tunnel is different but with simular signs and symptoms.
Thanks for your help!!

weary
11-15-2009, 17:18
I don't have an answer to the query. But thousands of diabetic victims live with "dead" feet and the tingles of diabetic nerve damage. Some of us manage succesful long distance hikes. I'm out of the long distance category pretty much now, but the permanent lack of feeling in both feet doesn't seriously impact my ability to walk. Five mile walks over rough trails in an afternoon are still a common activity for me these days.

The only way for you to know for sure is to build up some body strength and do ever increasingly strenuous hikes over rough terrain with a pack.