PDA

View Full Version : carbon trekking poles

squeezebox
11-15-2009, 16:53
I'm a newbie and need to learn everything.
Mainly I'm a cyclist and have a nice full carbon bicycle. So aesthetically I'm leaning to carbon trekking poles rather than aluminum.
Would love to hear your opinion.

everydayhiker
11-15-2009, 16:56
Truthfully, I have aluminum and have had no problems with mine. I guess if you want to pay the extra money it would be cool. I guess the weight would be a little different to. But mine have held up pretty good. I paid 90 bucks for them and wouldnt tradeum for anthing.

squeezebox
11-15-2009, 17:22
I just read the thread about poles
Again I'm inexperienced.
i think the black diamond flick lock sounds easier to use' but what about the lock getting knocked or pulled on something and getting unlocked?

everydayhiker
11-15-2009, 17:25
Not sure about that, Mine are slip and turn locking. I havent had problems on them yet. But do keep good care of them such as cleaning and trying to keep them dry.

Franco
11-15-2009, 17:27
Hi
First several of the CF poles are only that in name or only parts of it are made with CF ( for example my BD Contour CF)
Others are a one piece pole, light but not that practical when travelling.

Recently I had the opportunity to test the GG Lightreck 4 poles (under 7oz for the pair) . They are a two piece pole.
http://www.gossamergear.com/cgi-bin/gossamergear/Lightrek4_Trekking_Poles_Matte_Black.html (http://www.gossamergear.com/cgi-bin/gossamergear/Lightrek4_Trekking_Poles_Matte_Black.html)
Mine had a strap attached. Most users of the really light poles don't want the strap, but I do...
The poles performed very well and are a delight to use. The only bit I did not like is that they can jam when adjusting the length , something that I do often with my BD.