PDA

View Full Version : tent and bag

squeezebox
11-15-2009, 21:47
I'm been looking at the catalogs,
Thinking of the REI quarter dome T2 at about 4 lbs
Kelty light year +20 bag just under3 lbs
REI lite core pad 1.5 " 27 oz.
Since I'm a newbie it's nice being able to go to the local REI store and actually see what I'm buying.
Thanks!!
Planning a mid April NOBO

Appalachian Tater
11-15-2009, 22:29
Nothing wrong with any of that stuff except honestly, they all seem pretty heavy. For instance, you could even go with the same brand and type pad but in a short length and save 9 oz.

Look at some of the gear lists and threads in the gear forums. If your pack is lighter you'll be much happier every step. Your knees will thank you. Start off with a heavy pack, shelter, sleeping bag, and sleeping pad and you've already lost the battle. You want to carry as little as possible and what you do carry you want to be as light as possible.

Only a very few people who start out with heavy stuff finish with it and often they replace a lot of it at Neels Gap. You'll be carrying your gear several thousand miles over a period of several months. Spend the time now to research and be willing to pay a few extra bucks for lighter stuff and in the long run it will be cheaper and better.

tammons
11-15-2009, 23:29
Yep,

Too heavy IMO.

Look at a Tarptent Moment at 28oz, or a sublite at 18.5 oz + hiking poles or if you need a 2 person tent a double rainbow at 2.5#. Contrail too for one.
All are less expensive and lighter. Used even less.

Get a Neoair short or a prolite 4 short lightweight pad and put it on top of a $7 walmart blue pad. More comfortable and more expensive but worth it IMO. This combo weighs roughly 14 oz. If you get a neoair regular, 19 oz with the blue pad.

I have a neoair regular and use it on top of a 3/8" blue pad from bass pro shops and its the most comfotable I have ever slept on the ground.